Governing Board

Meet Our Board of Directors

Canyonlands Healthcare is governed by a consumer/community driven board which represents the diverse patient population served by Canyonlands Healthcare.

The board of directors is governed by its bylaws which are strongly based on guidance provided by the Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC). One of the key requirements of a Community Health Center board of directors is that 51% must be active users of the services provided by the organization.

All board members are expected to participate on board committees and attend regularly scheduled meetings. Committee structure is outlined in the board bylaws and includes the following:

  • Audit and Finance
  • Quality Improvement
  • Corporate Compliance
  • By-laws
  • Nominations
  • Executive

Governing Board

Officers & Members


  • President
    Father Thomas Maikowski – Representing Page, AZ
  • Vice President
    Saundra Gaines – Representing Safford, AZ
  • Treasurer
    Richard “Dick” Baker – Representing Globe/Miami, AZ
  • Secretary
    Paulette C. LeBlanc – Representing Safford, AZ


  • Thomas Bradley – Representing Chilchinbeto, AZ
  • Mel Peterson – Representing Beaver Dam, AZ
  • William Justice – Representing Page, AZ
  • Beverly Becenti-Pigman – Representing Kayenta/Chilchinbeto, AZ
  • Annette Newman – Representing Clifton, AZ
  • Janice Lovett – Representing Duncan, AZ
Join Our Board - Serve and Participate

Are You Interested in Joining Our Board?

Canyonlands Healthcare Governing Board

The Canyonlands Board of Directors Work Actively To:

  • Participate on board committees
  • Adopt policies and procedures for personnel and financial management
  • Establish priorities, center activities and hours of operation
  • Approve annual budget
  • Select, employ and evaluate executive officers and personnel

Community Health Center